International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Program


Exam Schedule

Technical Requirements

One of the features of the IB Diploma Program is its criterion-referenced, externally marked examinations which count for 70 - 80% of the score in an IB course. 20 - 30% of the score is derived from the teacher; these grades are externally moderated by the IBO, meaning they are reviewed for grading accuracy. Typically, a student will take her examinations in two-year courses in May of her senior year. Occasionally, a standard level (SL) examination may be given in May of the junior year-- candidates taking such exams are called anticipated candidates--but a student may take no more than two such examinations. No higher level examination may be taken during the junior year.
Exams are marked on a scale of 1 through 7. A maximum of three points may also be awarded for exceptional performance in the extended essay and the Theory of Knowledge prescribed topic essays. This allows a maximum of 45 points. The minimum score required for receipt of the diploma is 24 points, provided the following conditions have been met:

  • No score of 1 has been received on an HL exam

  • A candidate with 24, 25, 26, or 27 points does not have a failing condition (see below)

  • A candidate with 28 or more points has no more than one failing condition

  • The candidate has not been found guilty of malpractice, defined as the attempt by the candidate to gain unfair advantage in any assessment component.

The IBO defines a failing condition as any of the following:

  • A grade of elementary on the TOK prescribed essay or the extended essay

  • A grade of 2 in any HL subject

  • Each grade of 3 in an HL subject not compensated by a grade of 5 in another HL subject

  • A grade of 1 in any SL subject

  • Two grades of 2 or below on any SL subjects

  • Four grades of 3 or below

  • Two grades of 3 or below with a grade of 2 or below on any SL exam.